Decaf Carrie Goes to Boot Camp (Part II)

June 8, 2009 at 10:10 am Leave a comment

So, I haven’t posted in awhile. The entire month of Boot Camp, actually, which is kind of disappointing to me because I think it would’ve been funny, at least, to document the torture that included monster tires, sleds, and tug of war.

Lucky for all of us, I’ll get another chance, because I signed up for an additional three weeks. This was a really tough decision for me, partly because Boot Camp is really, really hard (I sort of hoped the name was tongue-in-cheek, but no such luck), and partly because I lost ZERO weight.

Yeah, yeah, I know, muscle weighs more than fat, blah blah. I know that, but it’s still demoralizing to look at the numbers on the scale and see that they haven’t moved, even though I’ve been killing myself with Boot Camp, running three days a week, and dieting.

I’m still pushing through, but I’ll admit I’m filled with a lot more dread than hope this time around.

Also, every single other person in my first Boot Camp class reported a massive increase in energy, when I just got more and more tired as the month went on. Together with Romen (the trainer), my mom, a registered nurse, lots of friends, and a few baristas, I figured out my exhaustion isn’t from the usual suspects (lack of rest, anemia, bad nutrition, etc etc). Romen’s guess is that I’m jacking up my system so much with caffeine that my body can’t wake itself up naturally.

So I’m going cold turkey on caffeine (sort of … I’m still allowing myself decaf coffee and tea, which has some caffeine). This is a really hard decision, and I kind of hate it. Today is Day Three. Days One and Two were marked by lots of naps and headaches. Decaf work should be interesting.

Off to Boot Camp.

UPDATE: One of the promises of Boot Camp is “you won’t get bored.” When they say this, they aren’t kidding: Today we played Kickball. Yeah, you heard that right. My first thought was “This game filled me with dread in third grade, and I don’t feel much better about it now.” My second thought was “This doesn’t seem like a very intense workout.”

On the contrary. We were informed that, while in the outfield, we had to play the field AND constantly do squats. While waiting to kick, we had to do pushups. The upside of this is that I no longer dreaded being “up to bat.” Sure, I had to kick (which I’m not any better at than I was at age 10, btw), but at least I could stop doing “Dive Bomber Pushups.” (If you don’t know what those are, you’re lucky … later we had to do “Spiderman Pushups,” which were even more dreadful.)

Then, once Romen noticed some people weren’t doing their squats while his back was turned, we did an awesome workout called “All the Stairs in the Neighborhood.” That means, essentially, that we ran all the steps in Caldwell Park, two at a time, at top speed, about five times apiece, then sprinted to the next set. This fun was followed up by Spiderman Pushups, dips, ab work, and generally wanting to die. You know, the usual.

More next time. I’ll try to keep up the blogging this time around.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Abort Mission … ? The Homeless Are Mocking Me

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

June 2009
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Most Recent Posts


