Falling off the Wagon … and Getting Back on

April 2, 2009 at 7:36 pm Leave a comment

This potato is out to get me.

This potato wants to make me fat!

I’m not good at cheating. The “all or nothing” aspect of many diets is attractive to me, since I really enjoy getting obsessed with a new idea and going after it 100%. The trouble starts when I make a mistake. One pitfall leads to the complete destruction of my carefully built diet plan.

This time around, I wouldn’t exactly say I’m building in mistakes, but I’m certainly trying to use them as learning experiences.

On Tuesday, a hellish day led to a baked potato. That might not sound so bad, but, I assure you, it was loaded with butter and cheese. Potatoes are a bit of an Achilles Heel for me, whether they’re baked, chipped, or french fried. They immediately become less “root vegetable” and more “vehicle for eating a bottle of ranch dressing.”

The point is, I ate the potato, and three chocolates. And then … I stopped. I picked up drive-thru McDonalds for a friend, but I ate grapes. For the past few days, I’ve been back in the saddle.

So far, this is my greatest victory with Recession Diet. I fell down, but I got back up immediately. The potato death grip loosens as we speak.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , , , , .

Wednesday Weigh-In: Carrie -5, Amanda -4 Carrie Attempts Kale Chips

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

April 2009
M T W T F S S
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Most Recent Posts